Cara Brennan

December 10, 2012 § Leave a comment

The Reference Room

I’m copying discoloured words
and breathing dust, waiting
for something to move me.
I’m told you can hear
the ghost turn pages.

I hear the wind.

I hear men sniff and
use their pens abruptly. I’m told
this is the warmest room
but I am cold;

breeze, breeze blowing.

This downbeat table is a good height
but the clock ticks loudly.
It traces the pace of my ink;
it pours old time down my back.

I consider the lore,

think of yellowing pages
held by ghosts.
The clock’s rotating hands
become my pulse.

Comments...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cara Brennan at Writers For Libraries.

meta

