Joan Johnston

December 30, 2012 § Leave a comment

I Borrowed One Day in the Life of a Boy from Tibet

and when the due date came round I took him back and renewed him. I renewed him every Saturday for weeks, carried him home the same short way I’d come – Benton Road, Weldon Crescent, The Spinney – until one Saturday the librarian said he was reserved and I had to return him. Someone else, a child I didn’t know, was waiting to find out all about a boy my age who herded yaks, ate tsampa and lived on the Roof of the World. My nomadic friend in a colourful hat belonged, I learned, to everyone.

Comments...

What’s this?

You are currently reading Joan Johnston at Writers For Libraries.

meta

